Leeds STV
Image default

China ends extradition treaties for Hong Kong with Canada, Australia and the UK after their similar decisions over Chinese controversial new security law

China has suspended Hong Kong extradition treaties with Canada, Australia, and the UK, in a tit-for-tat move after similar decisions by those countries over its controversial new security law.

Canada, the UK and Australia are part of the Five Eyes intelligence alliance. The other members are New Zealand, which has also suspended its extradition treaty with Hong Kong, and the US, which has signalled it is preparing to follow suit.

“The wrong action of Canada, Australia and the UK in politicising judicial cooperation with Hong Kong has seriously hurt the basis of judicial cooperation,” said foreign ministry spokesman Wang Wenbin.

“China has decided to suspend extradition treaties between Hong Kong and Canada, Australia and UK, as well as criminal justice cooperation agreements.”

Critics have said the Hong Kong security law is an erosion of civil liberties and human rights in the financial hub, which has been semi-autonomous from China since its handover from Britain in 1997.

But Wang accused the countries of having used the national security law as “an excuse to unilaterally announce the suspension of extradition treaties” with the region.

Related posts

Sheep and lamb prices at historical heights

Mary Johnson

Authorities go after the suspicious relationship of David Cameron and Lex Greensill

Mary Johnson

Several rounds of ‘Kumysovka’ convinced Borat to promote Ablay Myrzakhmetov brand

Mary Johnson

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.